What’s under your label?

28 Jun

I have been working alongside the Afghan community in my home area for the last 4 years. My husband recently retired so we thought it would be a good idea to regroup, refresh, and see what our next phase in life would be. We decided to go on the road. This involved a two fold purpose, one to go to other ministries and use our skills to help out, and two to see America. To accomplish this new adventure I needed to step down from many activities I was involved in within my church. Change is hard….Our labels become a part of who we are. When we peel away our labels what is underneath? Are we still important, usable, worthy? My lables were beginning to feed my ego. I began to feel uncomfortable. I felt that God was showing me it was time to peel them all off and stand before him naked. Change is hard.   The awakening that comes from change is worth the risk.  In having no labels I have the freedom to be renewed, and start fresh. I can no longer hide beneath the labels.  It is time to step out in faith, rely on waiting on God instead of feeling worthy because of all that I “DO”.

Be Still and know that I am God.

Leave a Reply

